What is the difference between the African Leopard, the North Chinese Leopard, the Persian Leopard and the Snow Leopard?

What is the difference between the African Leopard (Panthera pardus), the Amur Leopard (Panthera pardus orientalis), the Persian Leopard (Panthera pardus saxicolor) and the Snow Leopard (Panthera uncia)?

The African Leopard, Amur Leopard, Persian Leopard, and Snow Leopard are all solitary, elusive, large felines or wild cats. All of the leopards have pale-green or grey eyes.

Continue reading “What is the difference between the African Leopard, the North Chinese Leopard, the Persian Leopard and the Snow Leopard?”

Persian Leopard

The Persian Leopard (Panthera pardus saxicolor) is an endangered wild cat subspecies of the Leopard (Panthera pardus). It is also known as the Caucasian Leopard.

The Persian Leopard has a strong, stocky body, with short legs and broad paws. It is light in colour, with variations from pale to dark. It hasblack markings on its head and neck, and larger rosette shapes on its back, sides, and tail. It has a whitish underbelly. Its nose is short and broad. Its tail is bushy, long, and flexible. Its eyes are pale-green or grey. Its ears are small and rounded.

Continue reading “Persian Leopard”

Caucasus Jungle Cat

The Caucasus Jungle Cat (Felis chaus chaus) is a sub-species of the Jungle Cat. It is also known as the Reed Cat or the Swamp Cat. It is a medium-sized feline, or felid, mammal. It looks like a lynx.

The Caucasus Jungle Cat has sandy, reddish-brown, or grey fur without spots. It has a long, narrow face with a white nose. Its eyes are yellow, and it often has white fur around its eyes. It has large, pointed ears with small tufts of black hair. It has long legs and a short, black-tipped tail. It has sharp teeth.

Continue reading “Caucasus Jungle Cat”

Balkan Slow Worm

The Balkan Slow Worm (Pseudopus apodus) is a reptile. It is not a worm and it is not a snake. It is a legless lizard. It is also known as the Pallas’s Glass Lizard, the European Glass Lizard, the Sheltopusik, or the Giant Russian Legless Lizard.

The Balkan Slow Worm is brown with a yellow-beige belly. It has a segmented appearance that makes it look like a giant earthworm or a snake. It has a lateral groove along each side of its body. It has small (almost invisible), undeveloped rear legs. It is not a snake because it has eyelids (snakes do not have eyelids). It has a long tail. If the tail is lost, it grows back slowly, and is shorter and darker than its original tail.

Continue reading “Balkan Slow Worm”

Caucasian Wisent (Bison)

The Caucasian Wisent (Bison bonasus caucasicus) is a subspecies of the European Bison that lived in the Caucasus Mountains. Before its extinction, the last male Caucasian Wisent bred with cows from the lowland species of the European Bison (Bison bonasus bonasus).

In the 1940s and in 1959, a group of Caucasian Wisent and American Bison (Bison bison) hybrids were released into the Caucasian region, which bred with the Caucasian lowland hybrid species to form a single group. In 2000, zoologists categorized them as a new mountain species, called Bison bonasus montanus. However, the new category has not been confirmed.  

The hybrid Caucasian Wisent is an ungulate mammal of the bovine family. It is an artiodactyl, because it is cloven hooved.

The hybrid Caucasian Wisent is broad and muscular, with a brown coat of fur, and a massive head with horns.

Continue reading “Caucasian Wisent (Bison)”

Caucasus Tawny Owl

The Caucasus Tawny Owl (Strix aluco willkonskii) is a medium-sized nocturnal bird. It is also called the Caucasus Brown Owl or the Willkonskii Tawny Owl.

The Caucasus Tawny Owl has a stocky build with brown or grey upperparts and pale underparts with dark streaks. It has a large, rounded head with a facial disc. It has large dark eyes. It does not have ear tufts. It has rounded wings. The female is larger than the male.

Continue reading “Caucasus Tawny Owl”

Caucasus Peacock Butterfly

The Peacock Butterfly (Aglais io) is also called the European Peacock Butterfly. It is a common butterfly found in Europe and some parts of Asia. The Caucasus Peacock Butterfly (Aglais io caucasica) is found in Georgia and Azerbaijan.

The Peacock Butterfly is rusty-red, with four large black, blue and yellow eyespots on each wingtip. The eyespots are its defence mechanism against predators, such as birds. Its underside is dark-brown.

Continue reading “Caucasus Peacock Butterfly”