Jardine’s Parrot

The Jardine’s Parrot (Poicephalus gulielmi massaicus) is also called the Red-Fronted Parrot. It is a medium-sized African parrot from southern Kenya and northern Tanzania.

The Jardine’s Parrot is mainly green, and its wings have lighter green edges. It has a red chest and an orange-red crown, with black feathers on it head, neck, and back. It has a short, black, square tail. Its lower beak is dark grey and its upper beak has a horn-colour with a dark grey tip. Its eyes are red-orange with a pink-grey eye-ring. Its legs are grey-brown.

Continue reading “Jardine’s Parrot”

What’s the difference between a Thomson’s Gazelle and a Grant’s Gazelle?

The Thomson’s Gazelle (Gazella thomsonii) is cinnamon-coloured and the Grant’s Gazelle (Gazella granti) is sand-coloured.

The Thomson’s Gazelle lacks white on its body above the tail. The Grant’s Gazelle has white above the tail.

The Thomson’s Gazelle has a black tail. The Grant’s Gazelle has a white tail with a black tuft.

Continue reading “What’s the difference between a Thomson’s Gazelle and a Grant’s Gazelle?”

Thomson’s Gazelle

The Thomson’s Gazelle (Gazella thomsonii) is a common large east African antelope. It is nicknamed the Tommy.

The Thomson’s Gazelle has cinnamon-coloured fur with white underparts (but not above the tail), separated by a bold black side stripe. It has a black tail. It has a white throat patch and facial markings. It has a dark marking on its face. The male has horns that are large and strongly ridged, growing to 25-43 centimetres (10-17 inches) long. The female has very small horns, that are 8-15 centimetres (3-6 inches) long.

Continue reading “Thomson’s Gazelle”

Grant’s Gazelle

The Grant’s Gazelle (Gazella granti) is a large African antelope.

The Grant’s Gazelle has sand-coloured fur with white underparts. It has a white tail with a black tuft of hair at the end. It has a white throat patch and facial markings. The male has horns that are large, thick, and strongly ridged, growing to 50-80 centimetres (20-32 inches) long. The female has very small horns, that are 30-45 centimetres (12-18 inches) long.

Continue reading “Grant’s Gazelle”

CREATURE FEATURE: Long-Crested Eagle

The Long-Crested Eagle (Lophaetus occipitalis) is an African raptor, a bird of prey. It is an accipiter.

The Long-Crested Eagle is black-brown over most of its body, with patches of white on its wings. It has a long, shaggy crest. It has black and grey bars on its tail. Its eyes are big and bright yellow. It has a a black beak with a yellow cere, and yellow legs.

Continue reading “CREATURE FEATURE: Long-Crested Eagle”

African Harrier-Hawk

The African Harrier-Hawk (Polyboroides typus) is a medium-sized raptor, or a bird of prey

The African Harrier-Hawk has pale grey upperparts, head and chest. Its belly is white with fine dark barring. Its wings are pale grey with a black edge with a narrow white line. Its tail is black with a single broad white band. Young African Harrier-Hawks are brown instead of grey, with dark brown replacing the black parts.

It has double-jointed knees, which enable it to reach into holes and cracks in trees, to search for prey. It can climb trees.

Continue reading “African Harrier-Hawk”

Red-Eared Slider

The Red-Eared Slider (Trachemys scripta elegans) is also called the Red-Eared Terrapin. It is a semi-aquatic chelonian, living in water and also on land. A chelonian is a reptile that is a turtle, tortoise or terrapin.

The Red-Eared Sliders has a small red stripe around its ears. Its carapace (upper shell) is about 20 centimetres (8 inches) in length, and is oval-shaped and flat on top. The carapace changes colour, but it is mostly black. Its plastron (under shell) is light yellow with dark markings. It has a green-black head, legs, and tail.

It has partially webbed-feet that enable it to swim and walk on land. Its claws are very sharp, and used for digging.

Continue reading “Red-Eared Slider”

African Sacred Ibis

The African Sacred Ibis (Threskiornis aethiopicus aethiopicus) is a common African water bird.

The African Sacred Ibis is mainly white. It has a wrinkled black featherless head and neck, that has a large decurved beak (curving downward). Its tail feathers are iridescent blue-black. Its eyes are brown with a dark red eye-ring when it is breeding, which is also called an orbital ring. Its legs and feet are black.

Continue reading “African Sacred Ibis”

Malachite Kingfisher

The Malachite Kingfisher (Corythornis cristatus cristatus) is a Sub-Saharan African bird. Malachite is a dark green mineral.

The Malachite Kingfisher has bright metallic blue upperparts with black bands, and a pale blue or green-blue forehead. Its head has a crest of black and blue feathers. Its face, cheeks, and underparts are rufous (red-brown), with white patches on its throat and neck. It has short, rounded wings.

It has a black beak when young, that turns red-orange in adulthood. Its legs are bright red.

Continue reading “Malachite Kingfisher”

African Tiger Snake

The African Tiger Snake (Telescopus semiannulatus) is from central, eastern, and southern Africa. It is a rear-fanged colubrid, which is not venomous to humans.

The African Tiger Snake has pale orange or salmon pink scales with 24-48 black or dark brown bars on its back and tail. Its underbelly is pale yellow or orange. It has a narrow body, long tail, and a distinct head with large orange eyes that have vertical pupils.

Continue reading “African Tiger Snake”

How does a Parent Bird Feed its Chicks?

How does a parent bird feed its young chicks?

Newly-hatched altricial chicks are born featherless, blind, and helpless.

Chicks open their eyes after about four days. They take time to gain all of their feathers. Initially, the down feathers make young chicks look fluffy. They sit close to their parents to keep warm and safe.

During this time, young chicks stay in the nest. Adult birds look after and feed their young – sometimes, just the mother, sometimes just the father, and other times both the mother and father look after their chicks.

Continue reading “How does a Parent Bird Feed its Chicks?”

Silver Gull

The Silver Gull (Chroicocephalus novaehollandiae novaehollandiae) is also called the Australian Seagull because it is found in southern Australia. It is extremely common along the coastline.

The Silver Gull is white with light grey wings that are spotted with black tips. It has red legs and red beaks, which gets brighter with age.

Continue reading “Silver Gull”

Savannah Monitor Lizard

The Savannah Monitor (Varanus exanthematicus) is a medium-sized African lizard, living in East Africa, southern Africa, and some areas of West Africa. It is a reptile.

The Savannah Monitor Lizard has a blackish or dark grey body, with five or six rows of yellow blotches, but there can be other colour variations. It has a broad, bulbous snout and a rounded tail. It has short legs.

Continue reading “Savannah Monitor Lizard”