Baleen Whale teeth

Baleen Whales (suborderMysticeti) are large marine (saltwater) mammals in the Cetacea family of whales, porpoises, and dolphins. They are cetaceans. 

There are 12 species of Baleen Whales including the Bowhead Whale (Balaena mysticetus), Humpback Whale (Megaptera novaeangliae), Blue Whale (Balaenoptera musculus), and Gray Whale (Eschrichtius robustus). 

Baleen Whales live in cold oceans, such as the Artic Ocean and the Antarctic Ocean. They grow up to 600-3100 centimetres (20-102 feet) long.

Baleen Whales do not have teeth. 

Baleen Whales have keratin baleen plates instead of teeth. Human hair is made of keratin. 

The baleen plates look like hair that dangle in the mouths of whales, like a hairy curtain, or like a hairy comb. 

Baleen plates of the Southern Right Whale, Natural History Museum in Paris

Baleen Whales filter their food. They are filter feeders. They take in a lot of water and their baleen plates filter the food from the water. They then expel the water. They eat krill, plankton, and baitfish. 

Bowhead Whale by

Photographer: Martina Nicolls


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.